LanceWalshLance Patrick Walsh, M.D., Ph.D. is a specialist in urology, treating a variety of conditions ranging from cancer of the genitourinary tract (kidney, prostate, bladder) to benign conditions including kidney stone, BPH, incontinence, bladder prolapse, and hematuria. He specializes in minimally invasive and robotic assisted laparoscopic surgery using the latest techniques to help his patients. He was the first physician to perform urological robotic surgery in the Coachella Valley.

Dr. Walsh is on staff at three Coachella valley hospitals including Eisenhower Medical Center, John F. Kennedy Memorial Hospital and Hi Dessert Regional Medical Center. He also works with the team of oncologists at the Desert Comprehensive Cancer Center located at Desert Regional Medical Center.

Dr. Walsh is a member of the American Urologic Association where he serves on the Institutional Review Board, the California Medical Association, and the Riverside County Medical Association. He is a recognized as an independent physician in the Coachella Valley.

Prior to moving to the desert in 2007, to establish his private practice, Dr. Walsh completed his residency in Urology at the University of Texas Southwestern in Dallas. He trained at five major hospitals including Parkland Memorial Hospital, Baylor Medical Center, and Children’s Medical Center of Dallas. He completed an internship in General Surgery at University of Texas Southwestern Affiliated Hospitals.

Dr. Walsh earned his Medical Degree and Doctor of Philosophy in Medical Biochemistry at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. He was supported by a Reproductive Biology Training Grant from the National Institutes of Health and a scholarship from the Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Foundation. He has made numerous presentations and is well published in his specialty with more than 20 articles in peer-reviewed journals. Among his many research and science honors and awards include being named recipient of the Chancellor’s Award at Texas Tech University.